"Whoever wants to stand alone without the support of a master and guide will be like the tree that stands alone in a field without a proprietor. No matter how much the tree bears, passers-by will pick the fruit before it ripens. "

St John of the Cross, OCD - Doctor of the Church

* * *

"God commands not impossibilities, but by commanding he suggests to you to do what you can, to ask for what is beyond your strength; and he helps you, that you may be able."

St Augustine

* * *

"Shun too great a desire for knowledge, for in it there is much fretting and delusion. Intellectuals like to appear learned and to be called wise. Yet there are many things the knowledge of which does little or no good to the soul, and he who concerns himself about other things than those which lead to salvation is very unwise. "

Thomas á Kempis

* * *




Virtues, Gifts of the Holy Spirit and the Counsels


Which are the Theological Virtues?


The Theological Virtues are 'Faith, Hope, and Charity'. 1 Cor. 13:13

314. Why are they called Theological Virtues?


They are called Theological Virtues because they relate immediately to God.

  315. What are the chief mysteries of Faith which every Christian is bound to know?

The chief mysteries of Faith which every Christian is bound to know are the Unity and Trinity of God, who will render to every man according to his works, and the Incarnation, Death, and Resurrection of our Saviour.

  316. Which are the Cardinal Virtues?

The Cardinal Virtues are 'Prudence, Justice, Fortitude, and Temperance'. Wisdom 8:7

  317. Why are they called Cardinal Virtues?

They are called Cardinal Virtues because they are, as it were, the hinges on which all other moral virtues turn.

  318. Which are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are:
1. Wisdom  2. Understanding  3. Counsel  4. Fortitude
5. Knowledge  6. Piety  7. Fear of the Lord Is. 11:2,3

  319. Which are the twelve fruits of the Holy Spirit?

1. Charity 2. Joy 3. Peace  4. Patience  5. Benignity 
6. Goodness 7. Longanimity 8. Mildness 9. Faith
10. Modesty 11. Continency 12. Chastity Gal. 5:22

  320. Which are the two great precepts of Charity?

The two great precepts of Charity are:
1. 'Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with thy whole heart, and with thy whole soul, and with thy whole mind, and with thy whole strength'.
2. 'Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself'. Mark 12:30,31

  321. Which are the seven Corporal Works of Mercy?

The seven Corporal Works of Mercy are:
1. To feed the hungry  2. To give drink to the thirsty.
3. To clothe the naked  4. To harbor the harborless
5. To visit the sick  6. To visit the imprisoned
7. To bury the dead Matt. 25; Tobias 12

  322. Which are the seven Spiritual Works of Mercy?

The seven Spiritual Works of Mercy are:
1. To convert the sinner  2. To instruct the ignorant
3. To counsel the doubtful  4. To comfort the sorrowful
5. To bear wrongs patiently 6. To forgive injuries
7. To pray for the living and the dead

  323. Which are the eight Beatitudes?

The eight Beatitudes are:
1. Blessed are the poor in spirit; for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
2. Blessed are the meek; for they shall possess the land.
3. Blessed are they that mourn; for they shall be comforted.
4. Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice; for they shall have their fill.
5. Blessed are the merciful; for they shall obtain mercy.
6. Blessed are the clean of heart; for they shall see God.
7. Blessed are the peacemakers; for they shall be called the children of God.
8. Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake; for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Matt. 5:3-10

  324. Which are the seven capital sins or vices and their contrary virtues?

The seven capital sins or vices and their contrary virtues are:

1. Pride 1. Humility
2. Covetousness 2. Liberality
3. Lust 3. Chastity
4. Anger 4. Meekness
5. Gluttony 5. Temperance
6. Envy 6. Brotherly Love
7. Sloth 7. Diligence
  325. Why are they called capital sins?

They are called capital sins because they are the sources from which all other sins take their rise.

  326. Which are the six sins against the Holy Spirit?

The six sins against the Holy Spirit are:
1. Presumption    2. Despair 3. Resisting the known truth
4. Envy of another's spiritual good 5. Obstinacy in sin
6. Final impenitence

  327. Which are the four sins crying to heaven for vengeance?

1. Wilful murder 2. The sin of Sodom   3. Oppression of the poor
4. Defrauding labourers of their wages. Gen. 4, Gen. 18, Exod. 2, James 5

  328. When are we answerable for the sins of others?

We are answerable for the sins of others whenever we either cause them, or share in them, through our own fault.

  329. In how many ways may we either cause or share the guilt of another's sin?

We may either cause or share the guilt of another's sin in nine ways:

1. By counsel 2. By command
3. By consent in sin 4. By provocation
5. By Praise or Flattery 6. By concealment
7. By being a partner 8. By silence
9. By defending the ill done.
  330. Which are the three eminent Good Works?

The three eminent Good Works are Prayer, Fasting, and Almsdeeds.

  331. Which are the Evangelical Councils?

The Evangelical Councils are voluntary Poverty, perpetual Chastity and entire Obedience.

  332. What are the four last things to be ever remembered?

The four last things to be ever remembered are Death, Judgment, Hell, and Heaven. Ecclus 7:40